Pass along a news tip by clicking HERE.

Monday, February 22, 2010

Ex-Hamilton County Administrator Krings Named To Gov't Reform Panel: Current Administrator's $220,500 Salary Stays Frozen

CINCINNATI (TDB) -- From the original list of 64 applicants, Dave Krings -- who was pushed out of the county administrator's job earlier this decade --makes the cut. He is among 15 appointed to the new Hamilton County Government Reform Task Force. A majority of the members are women -- check out the complete list below. County commissioners also voted to rehire current Hamilton County Administrator Patrick J. Thompson for another year at an annual salary of $220,500. Thompson's contract deferred a $5,000 raise. His $10,000 raise from 2009 also was deferred.

Salaries are frozen due to a severe budget crisis. Commissioner David Pepper said Thompson does a great job running the state's third most populous county. The county has laid off about 1,500 workers. Said Pepper: "He's part of the freeze. Whenever there is a raise given, he gets it. Nobody else is getting a raise. It's even Steven around here."

Thompson's employment contract says: "The Board and Employee agree that the determination of the amount and timing of payment of the performance based increase in compensation with respect to 2010 shall be deferred until the County General Fund budgetary situation and Board Policy permits potential across-the-board wage increases for eligible County employees paid from the County's General Fund budget."

Commissioners stressed that the government reform panel was not under any orders or guidance, but would have free rein to propose changes and overhaul how the county government operates. The plan is to send recommended changes to voters in November. Korger government affair director Brendon Cull wasn't appointed, nor was Anderson Township Trustee Russ Jackson. Both applied for seats. Here are the appointees to the government reform panel: 1. Margaret Cook, Cincinnati, parts specialist, Intelligrated; 2. Marilyn DeCourcy, self-employed, retired 2002 Hamilton County Juvenile Court; 3. Cathy K. Doyle, hospital and health services administration; 4. Kevin R. Flynn, Cincinnati, attorney Griffin Fletcher and Herndon LLP, unsuccessful Cincinnati City Council candidate 2009 on Charter Party slate; 5. Connie M. Hinnitz, administrator Jewish Foundation of Cincinnati.

6. Nikki C. Johnson, Woodlawn, small business owner, A+Care Janitorial Service; 7. David Krings, former Hamilton County Administrator; 8. James T. O'Reilly, Wyoming vice mayor, law professor University of Cincinnati; 9. Mark Quarry, Silverton City Council and Hamilton County board of Realtors; 10. Elizabeth M. Robinson, Cincinnati, benefits manager Pension Corp. of American; 11. Kathleen M. Schmidt, Cincinnati, executive assistant, Cincinnati Bar Association.

12. David A. Singleton, Cincinnati, attorney, executive director Ohio Justice Policy Center; 13. Rosemarie Sturgill, retired; 14. Stephen M. Taylor, manager, U.S. Bank; 15. Stephen H. Wessels, electrician Hamilton County facilities department.

No comments:

Post a Comment